Chol (Secular) Curriculum

Our theme for the 2020-21 academic year is making every second count‘; every second count in teaching, learning and every aspect of school life at Pardes House.


provision 6


At Pardes House Primary School, we follow the National Curriculum. This sets out what children should be taught and what they should be able to achieve at each stage of their primary education. Pupils have targets in their exercise books and together with our pupil data tracker, each pupil’s progress is monitored on a daily, weekly and half-termly basis.

With the support of a carefully planned ‘Creative Curriculum‘, our teachers strive to make learning meaningful, enjoyable and memorable, and thanks to parent and pupil feedback, we know that our boys DO enjoy their learning! Even with their long days and long school weeks, our boys come to school smiling and leave smiling.

Teachers use a wide range of teaching styles and strategies depending on the activity and lesson objectives and all within the ethos of the school. Children work individually, 1-2-1 and in groups, enjoying sharing, learning and succeeding together.

Our ‘Creative Curriculum’ has been planned with the aim of further broadening our pupils’ experiences and their view of the world around them and in their own country, right here in England and Great Britain. The curriculum builds on the various activities, special weeks/days and numerous methods the school has employed already with this aim very much in mind.

Early Years Foundation Stage – Reception

The children follow curriculum based on the seven areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Teachers and key workers carry out focused observations of children in order to assess their progress and achievements. The results of these observations have a direct impact on the planning process.

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

For Years 1 to 6 our school curriculum is based on the National Curriculum – the four core subjects of English, Maths, Science and Computing and seven foundation subjects History, Geography, PE, Music, Art, Design and Technology and Personal Social Health and Citizenship Education.

There are links to each year group’s summer term curriculum on the curriculum general information page.


To see each year group’s ‘Curriculum and Skills Map’, please click on the links below.

Reception          Year 1          Year 2          Year 3          Year 4          Year 5          Year 6

To see each year group’s ‘Topic Map’ for the Autumn Term, please click on the links below.

Year 1          Year 2          Year 3          Year 4          Year 5          Year 6

Phonics and Reading Schemes in use

Reception:  Main Phonics scheme – Jolly Phonics.  Supporting schemes: Alphabet Soup and 2Simple.

Year 1:  Main Phonics scheme – Letters and Sounds.  Supporting scheme: Phonics Bug.

Reading schemes:  Oxford Reading Tree, Reading 360, Ginn, Pelican Guided Reading.


Key Stage 1 Timetable Outline

Key Stage 2 Timetable Outline